Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Buttercream (Paleo)

Image

 

I was very unsure when I made this cake. I made this cake for one of the ladies I work with that is strict paleo. I have a lot of paleo recipe books, however, I always still find myself searching online for recipes. Here is the recipe for this cake: 

http://deliciouslyorganic.net/chocolate-cake-chocolate-buttercream-paleo-grain-free-gluten-free/

When I bought my house, my parents gave me the extra standing mixer that they had gotten my sister, but my brother in law had also gotten my sister one so I got the extra one as my house warming gift. I will say I wasn’t excited with it. It takes up a lot of space, which in my kitchen I don’t have a ton of. However, it has been a life saver in many instances and I am SO SO happy that I have one now. It certainly has earned its spot on my counter.  This recipe calls for whisking eggs for six minutes for the cake. So while the standing mixer was doing that, I was doing other stuff. Then for the icing, it has to be whisked for 8 minutes, so again, thats when I was cutting my pound of butter, etc. 

I normally make cupcakes because I really like to try a baked good before I take it somewhere. It’s very hard to do that with cakes. However, I wanted to make this true to the recipe. Luckily, I made one of the cakes a little bit too high, so while I was leveling it I had a little bite of the extras and boy was it good. It was the perfect amount of richness and bitterness and still very moist. It doesn’t contain any grains at all, no xanthan gum (woohoo!), no corn. And still amazing. It was TIME CONSUMING. It also had an INSANE amount of eggs and butter in it. By no means is this a ‘healthy’ cake. But it is an ‘amazingly yummy’ cake. It will be worth your time. 

Also, for some reason, paleo baked goods (well and gluten free) cook awfully fast… and don’t really ‘brown’ the same way its gluten counterparts do, so make sure you follow recipes and check constantly. I can normally tell when the edges at the bottom are browned, however, with something like this, you really have to go by the recipe and it wasn’t a second longer than it said. I could probably have even taken it out maybe a minute sooner.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

