Immaculate Gluten Free Cookies

Image

This is proof that I went super crazy when Safeway had a sale of the Immaculate Gluten Free Cookies. They only have two kinds: Gluten Free Chocolate Chunk and Gluten Free Fudge Brownie. And both kinds are excellent. I probably like the Pillsbury Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough better I have decided, although it IS a hard decision. These are place and bake which is very nice. The Chocolate Chunk is better IMO. The Fudge Brownie has a little bit of a ‘grainy’ taste, although it is still quite good. And I have found it’s pretty easy to over-bake the brownie ones (really pay attention to the instructions and DO NOT bake on the same sheet as the choc chunk, because they take longer) because they never really get ‘burnt’ just super crunchy and overdone so you can’t really tell that you’re overcooking until you eat them once they’ve cooled and then it’s very sad.

Image

This was my gluten free dessert platter for a party, it contained the chocolate chunk cookies, the chocolate brownie cookies, and King Arthur GF brownies.

It stills makes me sad that they have so many ingredients I don’t like. One of the first being canola oil. The reason I don’t like canola oil is because it is manufactured at such a high temperature using processes that normally contain toxic chemicals (ie hexane). Then its degummed, deodorized, bleahced, and refined AGAIN. I don’t know I just don’t like the sound of that. (But the cookies are so yummy.)

And then we have the soy lechithin again. Which is in EVERYTHING because it’s an emulsifier but I hate that it’s in EVERYTHING because soy is so GM (genetically modified), soy lecithin is artificial because it’s extracted from the soybean using harsh chemicals, and may contain traces of the soy protein. I guess I just wish it was at least organic (which means it can be GM).

Then we also have the natural flavor (artificial flavors that are made from natural ingredients, so they can say it is a ‘natural flavor’).

And THEN we have the xanthan gum and guar gum. My soon-to-be-hubs has heard me say this SO many times, when his friends talk about food, he always just says, ‘get ready for your lecture’. I really don’t try to be one of the ‘know-it-alls’ that make you feel bad about what you’re eating, and normally I can keep my mouth shut, but there are times when I can’t. Xanthan gum is made by fermenting corn sugar (Remember, corn is highly GM) with a bacteria Xanthomonas Campestris (this bacteria makes the black spots on broccoli and cauliflower. It’s a slimy mess then ground into a white powder.  Why people use it is so food can stay on shelves longer because it helps food stay together. Gluten free people love it because it helps the dough stay ‘sticky’ which is very hard with GF baking. Xanthan gum can even be derived from….. wheat

Gluten Free Girl has some insights about chia seeds and flax seeds IN PLACE of xanthan gum. Replace whatever amount of xanthan gum the recipe calls for with chia or flax seeds... that are mixed with TWICE that amount of boiling water. I have yet to try this, I always say I am going to, but then I really like to try the recipe ‘as is’ before I tweek it. If anyone has tried this PLEASE COMMENT. Of course, no hope for processed foods like these lovely cookies, but it may save baked goods.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

